What Are Zodiac Signs?

The 12 Zodiac Signs

Ancient civilizations looked to the night skies and saw images of what they valued and worshipped. In the ancient eras the skies were their TV and religion. Many indigenous cultures on all continents developed their own unique form of astrology, based on the constellations they created, and the signs they observed. The signs used in Asian/Chinese Astrology are celebrated annually in late January and early February. The signs bear different names in Ayurvedic, Celtic, Aztec and Mayan astrology to list just a few cultures that developed their own version of astrology.

In modern times the most common forms of astrology are traditional Chinese astrology most common in Asian cultures, Ayurvedic astrology by South Asian people, and Western astrology, with the latter using the signs most familiar to European and American cultures. All forms of astrology are highly popular today and for 5000 years the topic has endured many highs and lows as human beings struggle to understand its proper place and service to our lives. Without computers most would struggle quite a bit with the mathematical and astronomical equations required to cast a horoscope.

In Western Astrology the 12 horoscope signs used are Aries the Ram, Taurus the Bull, Gemini the Twins, Cancer the Crab, Leo the Lion, Virgo the Virgin, Libra the Scales, Scorpio the Scorpion, Sagittarius the Archer, Capricorn the Goat-Fish, Aquarius the Waterbearer, Pisces the Fishes. Each of these as archetypes are explained on the zodiac signs page.

Image by LMoonlight from Pixabay

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *